Tuesday, December 6, 2011

It's Official, Swenson running Iditarod 40

Rick Swenson @ the Ceremonial Start
Anchorage, Alaska, 2007
As reported last week by Alaska Dispatch and the Anchorage Daily News, Rick Swenson is running in Iditarod 40. According to ADN.com, the reason for the delay for Swenson's addition to the official roster was due to not having turned in all of his paperwork. Funny, you'd think he'd know how to do that, considering he's been in the race every decade it's been run, and is a board member. There are 69 names now on the list (Swenson is #68) and ADN.com reported there were to be seventy names once all paperwork was received. Alaska Dispatch reported 69. Still some confusion, but what's an Iditarod without a little bit of that?!

Rick Swenson is the only five time champion in the race's history, and is one of six past champions running in the historic 40th race. Lance Mackey, Mitch Seavey, Jeff King (newly unretired), Martin Buser, and reigning champion John Baker will join Swenson on the quest for "one more." Swenson's wins came in the late 70s and the 80s, it's been two decades (and then some) since his team ran first under the burled arch.

No comments:

Post a Comment